MUNIRA WILSON MP Member of Parliament for Twickenham



HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

The Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP
Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero
1 Victoria Street
London
SW1H 0ET

23 March 2023

Dear Secretary of State

Re: Urgent Information for Households on Heat Networks

We write to you with a number of urgent questions on behalf of thousands of households across the UK, many of which are in London, whose homes are connected to communal and district heat networks.

Since the end of the Energy Bills Relief Scheme was announced in January, Members from across the House have repeatedly asked Ministers for clarity over what the new Energy Bills Discount Scheme will mean for their constituents living in houses or blocks of flats on heat networks.

The response we have received is that further information would be made available "in due course" or "in the coming weeks". With just a week until the Energy Bills Relief Scheme closes, time is running out to offer these households vital clarity over how they will continue to be supported.

You will be aware that Ministers have also repeatedly given assurances that the support for all households across the UK will be "equivalent", whether on the grid or off it. Yet customers on heat networks are currently unprotected by the Ofgem energy cap and are ineligible for the Government's Energy Price Guarantee, with many facing energy bills double that of the average household.

We therefore urge you to confirm as soon as possible what support will be available for households on heat networks and how it lives up to the Government's promise of equivalence, ensuring that average bills for heat networks customers do not exceed the current £2,500 price guarantee afforded to other domestic households.

Continued/...

The Hamptons • St Margarets • Strawberry Hill • Teddington • Twickenham • Whitton

T: 020 7219 6474 E: munira.wilson.mp@parliament.uk Newsletter: www.munira.org.uk/email sign up/

 We look forward to receiving your swift response.

Yours sincerely

MUNIRA WILSON MP MP for Twickenham

Utshilson

SARAH OLNEY MP
JAMIE STONE MP
WERA HOBHOUSE MP
RICHARD FOORD MP
WENDY CHAMBERLAIN MP
DAME MEG HILLIER MP
JOHN MCDONNELL MP
APSANA BEGUM MP